NYHA Functional Class

Class I

Patients with no limitation of activities; they suffer no symptoms from ordinary activities.

Class II

Patients with slight, mild limitation of activity; they are comfortable with rest or with mild exertion.

Class III

Patients with marked limitation of activity; they are comfortable only at rest.

Class IV

Patients who should be at complete rest, confined to bed or chair; any physical activity brings on discomfort and symptoms occur at rest.

By using this site you acknowledge that you have read, understand, and agree to be bound by our terms of use and privacy policy. All content and tools are for educational use only, are not meant to be a substitute for professional advice and should not be used for medical diagnosis and/or medical treatment.